Intentional Talk Sentence Starters

This year I’m hoping to talk less. I know my students will need supports to start contributing to our math discussions and I think having these sentence starters will help. I’m expecting that I’ll have to model their use and I think we might do some role playing so that students can get used to saying them without any extra pressure.

I reused some of my previous sentence starters that I never actually posted in my classroom and added in suggestions from Intentional Talk: How to Structure and Lead Mathematical Discussions. They’ll be hung above the whiteboard so that everyone can see them. I might make another set to hang on on side of the classroom as well.

Screenshot 2016-07-29 at 2.11.11 PM

Link to the google slides can be found here! These should print just fine if you print 1 slide per page.

 

Leave a Reply

